Everything You Need To Know About LIG, MIG, and HIG Flats

LIG MIG  palaces in the past, then homes or bungalows, and now, due to a lack of room and rising land costs in metropolitan areas, we’ve shifted to contemporary flats. The development of these apartments is clearly exploding, and there are always a large number of flats under construction at any one time.

Everything You Need to Know About LIG, MIG, and HIG Flats


Are you looking for 2bhk flats in navi mumbai?

Studio apartments, builder floors, penthouses, and other types of flats are built. However, as India’s population continues to grow, so does the need for residential dwellings. The catch is that poverty is India’s greatest economic obstacle. This obstacle makes it impossible for anybody to buy a home. The government has continually worked toward the goal of providing homes for everyone. Flats have been separated into groups such as Janta, LIG, MIG, SFS, HIG, and EWS flats to deal with this scenario.

Let’s take a look at the different LIG, MIG, and HIG categories and see what they mean. Let’s look at the differences between EWS and Janta apartments and LIG. In this post, we’ll go over the differences between LIG, MIG, and HIG, as well as qualifying requirements, current schemes, how to apply, and more.

 LIG,MIG: What does LIG stand for?

LIG stands for Low Income Group in its entire form. People who belong to a family with an annual gross income of Rs 3 lakh to Rs 6 lakh are included. A single unit in a multi-story structure or a unit of 60 square metres falls under the LIG housing category, which is targeted at persons in this income bracket. Basic amenities such as toilets, power, and water are included in these flats.


 LIG,MIG: What distinguishes LIG from EWS and Janta Flats?

EWS: The Economically Weaker Section is the full version of EWS. Households with a yearly income of up to Rs 3 lakh are included. They’re also known as the unreserved Economy category. EWS apartments have a carpet space of up to 30 square metres and have basic services such as power and water.

Jantas: These are modest flats with one room, adjoining bathrooms, and a kitchen. A Janta apartment is between 35 and 40 square metres in size. The important thing to remember is that this sort of property is available to households of all income levels. The term Janta comes from the fact that it is accessible to the whole public.


 LIG,MIG: What does MIG stand for?

MIG stands for middle-income group in its complete form. MIG-I and MIG-II are the two subgroups of this group. The yearly income is used to categorise the individuals. People who earn between Rs 6 lakh and Rs 12 lakh per year are classified as MIG-I. A person who earns between Rs 12 lakh and Rs 18 lakh is classified as MIG-II.

MIG-I has a carpet size of 120 square metres, whereas MIG-II has a carpet area of 150 square metres. Previously, the carpet area for this category was smaller, ranging from 90 to 110 square metres.


What does HIG stand for?

HIG stands for high-income group in its complete form. Households with an annual income of more than Rs 18 lakh are included. People in this group are entitled for larger carpet areas and other facilities such as 3 BHK apartments, duplexes, and bungalows, among other things.


LIG, MIG, and HIG eligibility criterion

To use the services provided under these categories, you must meet the following requirements. For LIG apartments, the Indian government offers a rebate on home loan interest rates. A subsidy was also granted to the MIG group prior to 2021, however that decision was rescinded. The subsidy is offered as part of the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana.






The household’s annual income

3 to 6 lakh rupees

6 to 12 lakh rupees (MIG-I)


12 to 18 lakh rupees (MIG-II)


18 lakhs and upwards

Carpet area

90 square meter

110 square meter (MIG-I)

150 square meter (MIG-II)


Carpet area is larger than LIG and MIG.




No subsidy 

No subsidy




Roads, running water, and power are all necessities.

Firefighting apparatus and a sports court are a little more than the basics.

Luxurious amenities include a lift, a gym, a grocery shop, and auto parking.


Amenities Roads, running water, and power are all necessities. Firefighting apparatus and a sports court are a little more than the basics. Luxurious amenities include a lift, a gym, a grocery shop, and auto parking.


Schemes that fall within the LIG, MIG, and HIG categories

In India, numerous housing plans are in place to ensure that housing is available to everyone. There is a separate system for each category: LIG, MIG, and HIG. Here’s a list of a few schemes organised by category.


Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY)

In 2015, the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) was introduced. It is a government of India project aimed at providing affordable housing to households in the lower-income group (LIG). And the plan was also available to MIG-I and MIG-II families until 2021, however that decision has since been reversed. LIG households are eligible for a 6.50 percent subsidy under the Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS). By 2024, the goal is to develop 2.95 lakh pucca dwellings.


Everything You Need to Know About LIG, MIG, and HIG Flats


Housing and Area Development Authority of Maharashtra Scheme (MHADA)

In Maharashtra, the Maharashtra Homes and Area Development Authority (MHADA) attempts to provide affordable housing. The housing units are allocated based on the household’s monthly income. The plan is open to Maharashtra residents aged 18 and above who have a PAN card and a regular source of income.


Delhi Development Authority (DDA) Housing Scheme

This housing initiative is available to all Delhi residents over the age of 18. The programme is linked to the PMAY programme. A total of 1800 units are available for purchase in the years 2021-2022. This plan is available to people in the LIG, MIG, and HIG categories.


Scheme of the West Bengal Housing Board

The West Bengal government has vowed to provide 35,000 housing units to people of diverse economic levels. The lottery mechanism is used to distribute houses and flats.


Rajiv Awas Yojana –

LIG households are eligible for the Rajiv Awas Yojana. By 2022, the initiative intends to make India slum-free. Housing units ranging in size from 21 to 40 square metres are developed for the poorest members of society


Housing Board of Tamil Nadu Scheme

The Tamil Nadu Housing Board intends to provide low-cost housing to people in all income brackets, including LIG, MIG, and HIG. This housing initiative is open to Tamil Nadu residents over the age of 21. An also applicant, on the other hand, should not own a home in Tamil Nadu or any other state that has a distinct housing policy.



You’re looking for Buy Homes in Navi Mumbai we have the best Buy homes in Navi Mumbai Like Ready to Move & Nearby possession: https://navimumbaihouses.com/property/search/buy/navi-mumbai-all/


If you want daily property update details please follow us onFacebook Page / YouTube Channel / Twitter

Disclaimer: The views of this expressed above are for informational purposes only based on the industry reports & related news stories. Navimumbaihouses.com does not guarantee the accuracy of this article, completeness, or reliability of the information & shall not be held responsible for any action taken based on the published information.
Back to top

Leave a Reply

Buy Properties in Navimumbai